Posted by: Shanie Matthews | March 10, 2010

Life Coach, Carl Massy, Helping You Excercise Your Happiness Muscles

Along the road of life it is so beneficial, vital even, to cross paths with inspirational teachers…people that help others to achieve their highest potential.

Well, one such person that is consciously helping others is Australian born, Carl Massy. A life coach and fitness professional, Carl dedicated himself to his passion for helping people find their inner happiness after a stint in the military, working for the global Olympic committee, and traveling the world.  According to his website, “I am about constant improvement in all aspects of life. I also have formal qualifications such as a management degree, a diploma in NLP, Personal Fitness Training qualifications, a black belt in Tae Kwon Do and I am a Reiki master. I also do charity work in East Timor and support small business enterprises in the Philippines and India. Plus I write regular Happiness Tips on my blog, and have various articles published on how to exercise your happiness muscles.”

His inspirational way of bringing out internal joy is only strengthened by his glowing smile. A person that so obviously activates conscious personal happiness is a person that has an important message to share, in my opinion.

And that is why I was so excited when Carl said that he would be happy to do an interview with me for my blog (which happens to run pretty parallel with his mission in life).

Here’s what the champion for living joyfully had to say…

EH: What was your “ah-ha” moment of clarity, where you knew you needed to take a step forward in exercising your own happiness?

CM: There have been plenty of ah-ha moments I guess, but the two most profound for me were:

1. In 1996 I took an extended period of leave from the Australian Army and travelled the world. It was during these travels that I realised that a number of beliefs that I had adopted – and behaved accordingly to – were not mine (e.g. disliking someone if they were gay, or a guy with long hair, or a ‘hippy’), but the institution I worked for. Once I was away from the institution I got more in touch with me and realised I didn’t care what people looked like or their sexual preferences. I just liked people.

2. The second major ah-ha moment occurred as a result of one weekend late in 1998. I was back in the Army at this point and partying with the boys. Drinking too much one weekend, sleeping all day and then restless at night. So restless that I decided to get out of bed at 2am and turn on the television (which was not normal for me). And there was Tony Robbins – larger than life – and selling his Personal Power II on an infomercial. On an impulse I bought a copy and in Easter 1999 I did the 30-day program. This completely changed the direction of my life. He was the right person for me, pushing the right buttons, at the right time.

EH: How did working with the Olympic and Asian Games committees help in your path of joy?

CM: There were a lot of things I guess. One was finally leaving the Army after 14 years. Getting the opportunity to travel the world and experience different cultures first hand. Plus I realised what my passion in life was: to help others find joy, happiness or peace. Also essentially my consulting consisted of helping someone (e.g. senior police officer) get clear on what they had to do, breaking it down in pieces that did not overwhelm them and then encouraging them through the process. I realised that I was coaching them towards their goals. Also working for 5 years through a translator taught me how to refine my non verbal communication, which is a skill I use all the time.

EH: What practices and studies have you found in your own life to be beneficial towards conscious happiness?

CM: There are quite a few, and come from different places, so it might be best to see in list form:

Studies/Seminars:
• Personal Power II (Tony Robbins) – I barely remember the details of it, but it changed my course completely.
• NLP – understanding the link between body, mind and spirit
• Reiki – understanding the flow of energy
• Date With Destiny seminar with Tony Robbins – understanding relationships
• Coaching private clients. I learn something new with every person that I work with. We are teaching each other along the way. Every time.

Practices:
• Daily ritual of stretching and affirmations
• Daily meditation
• Daily journaling
• Regular physical activity (lots of variety) – yoga, martial arts, cycling, beach training, etc
• Being consciously aware of myself (and my mistakes) and looking inwards on a regular basis
• Being curious as to why I do what I do – being my behaviour into conscious awareness
• Always asking the question: how can I improve this person, place, event, business, etc even more?

EH: As an Australian citizen, do you feel that your heritage helped you to be more open to thinking outside the box?

CM: Great question! The Australian environment can be a harsh one – so I think culturally we learn how to adapt. This makes Australians very adaptive to different cultures and environments. It also means we learn to be creative in solving problems. I think we also learn to have a sense of humour and not to take ourselves so seriously.

EH: What about the Asian culture drew you to creating a base camp there?

CM: I consider myself both a pragmatic planner and spontaneous. So the idea was planted when I was working in the Middle East (Qatar) and a friend showed me the quality of villa he purchased for less than $100,000. That planted the idea. And then my planning self took over. I decided that Bali was ideal for a number of reasons:

1) the low cost of living was beneficial as I had just gone through a career transition to Life Coaching and starting a new business

2) people are already coming to Bali, so I did not have to sell the idea of coming to Bali, I just had to sell the idea of getting coaching while they were here

3) I have a rule that there are no rules, and that is much easier to incorporate in Asia than in Australia which is quite rule-centric.

EH: As a life coach, you teach happiness and well-being to others. Do you feel that there is a certain aspect to conscious happiness that is generally missing in the people’s lives that you come into contact with?

CM: The single greatest generic challenge is that most of their limiting beliefs are buried so deep in their subconscious minds that they are not even aware that they do what they do because of a belief planted decades ago. They also don’t realise that they don’t have to do or think in a certain way. This has been the major focus of my work and recently I completed a free eBook which is on my website. Beliefs are the main building blocks to human behaviour and can actually be changed. But only when you become consciously aware of them.

EH: In your philosophy of happiness, you believe that there are three major components of life. Can you explain this theory a little more?

CM: In a very general sense I look at life as consisting of three major (and generic) components: self, relationships and work. I then break down these three components into more specific categories. For instance relationships includes: intimate, friends & family and relationship with the world. I also teach that working on self (body, mind & spirit) is so important, as this is where the well of personal energy or power comes from. The more personal energy you have, the greater your relationships can be and also the greater you are able to cope with work challenges. I teach that with greater energy through conscious living and conscious awareness, you can play the game of life at a whole new level. It also has the potential to raise your default level of happiness.

EH: Another aspect to joy that is brought up in your philosophy is gratitude for what you have in your life. What is one way that we can activate that more in our lives?

CM: Gratitude is an important key in every religious teaching. It is one of the keys to manifesting things in your life too. If you are grateful for what you receive, you are likely to get more. Whether you are showing gratitude to a friend, a work associate or even a higher power; if you show them that you are grateful you will always receive more. Practical ways of doing this is to always say thank you when you receive anything (big or small), start every day by saying “thank you” for 5-10 things that you already have in life (thank God, life, the universe, or yourself), and if you journal you can write down 5 things daily or end each entry with a general or specific “thank you”.

EH: Contributing to other’s well-beings is an additional part of the happiness puzzle. Do you have a favorite memory, in which your actions made another smile?

CM: My favourite and on-going contribution was to an Indian security guard that worked at my apartment building in the Middle East. Thapa worked 7 days a week, 12 hours a day for 2 years straight (without any vacation). He had a wife and two daughters back in the Darjeeling region, and at the end of his 2-year contract he was considering signing up for another 2-years to save more money. When I asked him how much he would save he said $1500! I was floored. But then it was my turn to floor him. I wrote him a cheque for $1500 and said at the end of my contract I would come over to India and help him build his little grocery store. I went to India in 2007 and met his beautiful (and incredibly grateful) family, plus helped with the construction of his grocery store. I am still in touch with him today and I am planning on supporting his daughters with work opportunities when they get older.

EH: What advice do you have for those beginning on the journey of consciously living a happy life?

CM: Be open. Be flexible with your beliefs. Don’t believe that something is true just because that is what you have experienced all your life. Know that there is someone else out there that proved the direct opposite of your belief is also true. It is this openness to different ideas, concepts, experiences, and behaviours that will make your journey so much easier and so much more enjoyable.

My rule is that “there are no rules”. In my experience the people with the most, or most inflexible rules, are generally the unhappiest.

Be willing to be challenged and therefore changed. Because without change you will not grow and without growth you will remain unfulfilled.

None of us are perfect. But then who wants to be? It would make it very boring for the next bunch of decades if we had it all worked out now.

If you want to do something better, find someone that is already doing it and do what they do.

Have faith in life and therefore enjoy it. Everything ALWAYS works out OK in the end.

Responses

  1. This is a good one. Thanks. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

