Posted by: Shanie Matthews | May 10, 2010

Kicking Crabbiness to the Curb by Dawn Weinberger

Kicking Crabbiness to the Curb
By Dawn Weinberger

A couple of weeks ago, I heard something very insightful on my friend Lisa’s video blog.

“When we don’t feel free, we start to get crabby, bitter and rebellious,” she said.

Her statement (and her entire 8+ minute video, actually) really resonated with me, because lately I’ve been getting crabby. And I don’t feel free, at all. Instead, I feel stuck. Stuck in an annoying cycle of insane deadlines and month-long dry spells, stuck doing something out of habit that isn’t working for me anymore, stuck in a place where I dread starting my work day.

What happened? I used to adore my job. I always wanted to be a freelance writer, and I thought I would love this job forever. Why is this happening now, after all these years?

I don’t know if I have an answer for myself, but I do know one thing: my crabbiness is a sign that I need to make some changes. I can’t sit here any longer, tied down to a computer waiting for sources to return my calls. There is opportunity out there, and I need to go find it. Despite what I’ve told myself over and over again, I do not have to send out a certain number of query letters each week or work a certain number of hours. I do not have to take every assignment that comes my way, and I definitely do not have to take on projects that cause so much stress that all my other responsibilities fall by the wayside. I do not have to continue doing something that doesn’t make me happy anymore, just because I’ve always done it.

No, I’m not going to give up writing altogether. I have several editors and clients whom I just love working with, and I want to maintain those relationships. But I am also going to look for new opportunities that may or may be related to writing. Open doors are out there, and I want to seek out doors leading to projects that foster a happy, peaceful spirit and a positive outlook. Crabbiness? No thanks!

Leave a Reply

Categories

